The AFNQL has been created in May 1985 and it is the occasional meeting point for the Chiefs of 43 communities of the First Nations of Quebec and Labrador. The AFNQL holds Chiefs’ Assemblies four times a year, at which time it is empowered with different political mandates. The Chiefs gathered in Assembly elect, for a three-year mandate, a Chief of the AFNQL. The current Chief, Mr. Ghislain Picard has been holding this appointment since 1992, and he has embarked in his sixth term of office.

The AFNQL provides support to the communities and represents a total of ten Nations:

  • Abenaki
  • Algonquin
  • Atikamekw
  • Cree
  • Huron-Wendat
  • Maliseet
  • Micmac
  • Mohawk
  • Montagnais-Innu
  • Naskapi

The AFNQL is linked to the Assembly of the First Nations (AFN), whose office is located in Ottawa:

  • The Chief of the AFNQL is member of the AFN Executive Committee which meets about ten times a year;
  • The Chief of the AFNQL may be appointed to hold a portfolio of national scope (ex.: international, education, health, finances…).
Last updated on December 14, 2015

© AFNQL 2015
| About Us | Current Affairs | Files | Current Events | Communities |
| Publications | Contact Us | Links |